Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC)

MMV’s Expert Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC) helps to identify the best projects worthy of inclusion in the portfolio and continues to monitor progress through an annual review of all projects. This committee consists of experts from both industry and academia and covers the full range of expertise required to assess projects that are engaging in the extremely complex process of drug research and development.

ESAC Members

Dr Aileen Allsop Former Vice President for Science Policy, R&D, AstraZeneca, United Kingdom

Dr Thomas Baillie Dean Emeritus, School of Pharmacy University of Washington, Seattle, USA 

Dr Tesfaye Biftu Distinguished professor, National institute of pharmaceutical sciences, ASTU, Adama, Ethiopia

Sir Simon Campbell Former SVP for WW Discovery, Pfizer, organic chemist, United Kingdom

Robert Clay Consultant, Highbury Regulatory Science Limited; President (2017) and Board Member at TOPRA; and Chief Regulatory Officer, Kinapse Ltd., United Kingdom

Dr Anne Cooper Programme Director, Heptares, United Kingdom

Prof Brian Cox Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Sussex, School of Life Sciences, United Kingdom

Prof Umberto D'Alessandro Theme Leader Disease Control and Elimination, Medical Research Council, The Gambia

Ms Delese Mimi Darko Chief Executive Officer, Safety Monitoring & Clinical Trials Division, Food and Drugs Authority, Ghana

Dr Michael Dunne Chief Medical Officer, Durata Therapeutics, USA

Dr Monica Hemben Eimunjeze Director, Drug Evaluation & Research Directorate, National Agency for Food and Drug Administration, Nigeria

Prof Paul Fish Head of Chemistry,  Alzheimer's Research UK | UCL Drug Discovery Institute

Prof Daniel Goldberg Professor and Co-Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases Department of Medicine Washington University, USA

Dr Kasturi Haldar Professor, Julius Nieuwland Chair of Biological Sciences, Director, Center for Rare and Neglected Diseases, University of Notre Dame, USA

Dr Tim Hammond Independent Pharmaceutical Preclinical Safety Consultant at Preclinical Safety Consulting Ltd, United Kingdom

Dr Laurent Hennequin Research Director, Galderma R&D by Nestlé Skin Health / Galderma R&D Sophia-Antipolis, France

Prof Dennis Kyle Distinguished University Health Professor, College of Public Health, University of South Florida, USA

Dr Marcus Lacerda Public Health Specialist, Fiocruz, Brazil 

Prof John Lambert Chief Medical Officer, Global Head Medical Affairs and Consulting, PAREXEL International – Early Phase, United Kingdom

Dr Mary Mader Research Fellow, Discovery Chemistry Research and Technologies, Eli Lilly and Company, USA  

Dr Christine Manyando, Head of Public Health Department, Tropical Diseases Research Centre, Ndola, Zambia      

Dr George K Mooney KGM Pharma Consulting LLC, USA

Dr John Pottage Chief Scientific and Medical Officer, ViiV Healthcare; and Co-Chairman MMV ESAC (Development), USA  

Dr Robert Riley Vice President, Drug Discovery, Evotec, United Kingdom    

Prof Dennis Shanks Director, Army Malaria Institute, Australia

Dr Sodiomon Sirima Centre National de Recherche et de Formation sur le Paludisme (CNRFP), Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Prof Dennis Smith former Vice President, PGRD, Pfizer, Kent, United Kingdom

Dr John R.J. Surtees Managing Partner, Berzelius Integrated Solutions, Belgium

Dr Klaus Urbahns Head of Discovery Technologies at Merck Group, Germany

Dr Elizabeth Vadas President, InSciTech Inc. Canada

Prof Stephen Ward Deputy Director, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom

Dr Thomas Wellems Chief, Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research (LMVR), National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, USA

Dr Michael Witty Drug Discovery Consultant and former Vice-President Pfizer R&D; Co-Chairman MMV ESAC (Discovery), United Kingdom

Dr Takeshi Yura Vice President Medicinal Chemistry, Jubilant Biosys Ltd, India